

DATE: January 9, 2009

TO: LIHTC Applicants

FROM: Multifamily Housing Group

RE: Disaster Relief and Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008 (H.R. 1424)

This memo provides information on WHEDA's LIHTC allocation process relating to certain aspects of the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008, H.R. 1424 signed by President Bush on October 3, 2008.

Included in H.R. 1424 is additional Disaster Relief for several of Wisconsin's counties declared major disaster areas due to the storms and flooding experienced in 2008. As a result, Wisconsin will receive an additional \$8 per capita low income housing tax credit for the years 2008, 2009 and 2010 to be used in those affected counties. Those counties are listed at the bottom of this memo.

The additional Disaster Credit of \$30.6 million per year precipitated the amendment of the 2009-2010 Qualified Allocation Plan. Please refer to WHEDA.com for the 2009-2010 <a href="QAP amendment">QAP amendment</a> approved by WHEDA's Board on November 17, 2008.

Counties eligible for Disaster Relief Credit: Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago.